Recipe: The most delicious stir-fry you will make at home

Posted on February 28, 2010

1


My husband begs me to make this over and over again. He asked for this again tonight, and then promptly fell asleep. Anyway, I figured I might as well entertain myself, so I actually measured things out for the first time ever. The recipe is for two generous servings, so add 1/4 to 1/2 of recipe for each additional famished child.

Ingredients: (2 servings)

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed hot pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white or cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1 can mushrooms
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1/2 lb meat

Steps:

  1. Cut meat into strips, thinly slice carrots and green pepper, and drain mushrooms.
  2. In a small bowl or cup, add a small amount of the water to the cornstarch, and mix with fork. Once the texture is consistent, dilute with remaining water.
  3. Combine cornstarch/water mixture, crushed hot pepper, salt, vinegar, sugar, and sesame oil in pan, and stir. Heat pan to about medium heat.
  4. Add meat, mushrooms, carrots, and green pepper, in this order. In reality you can put it in at the same time and it will still turn out alright, but I like my green pepper pretty crunchy.

Vegetarian option:

Replace strips of meat with 1/2 lb of cubed firm tofu.  Instead of adding the tofu first, like the meat, add the tofu last; this will prevent disintegration.

Adjustments:

  • Crushed hot pepper. This is obviously a personal thing. Today I wasn’t really thinking clearly and added a full teaspoon. BURNING. My husband liked it, though.
  • Sugar. 2 tablespoons of sugar? Srsly? Well if you remember from one bullet point ago, there was so much hot pepper in this food that other flavors got drowned out. You’ll definitely need at least 1 full tablespoon, I swear, but for increasing increments you can play it by ear.
  • Cornstarch. This is, obviously, the thickening agent. The sauce on this batch wasn’t terribly thick, but it wasn’t terribly thin either. If you prefer a thicker sauce, you can double the cornstarch from 1 to 2 teaspoons.
  • Water. I said 1/2 cup, but this really depends on how long and how hot you cook the food, as well as how much cornstarch you put in ^-^.

Posted in: Recipes