Happy Ada Lovelace Day! And people on Facebook are assholes.

Posted on March 24, 2010

1


So far this blog has been more about the “housewife” part more than the “hacker” part.  I don’t know if you read the “about” page, but this is called “hacker housewife” because I happen to be both a hacker and a housewife.  That is to say, I program stuff… and while husband goes to work, I stay at home and wear dresses and cook and clean for my husband.  And program stuff.  (OMG headesplode!)

Anyway, today is Ada Lovelace day.  Ada was a both a female and also the first computer programmer.  It’s pretty rare for females to be first at anything, in history, so she’s a pretty special lady.  It’s also pretty ironic considering that computer programming is one of the least equitable fields of study in college for women.  In fact, female enrollment in computer science programs have been steadily going down despite the fact that females in many other technical fields have been going up, even in physics and the like.

Now, I’m not one of those people that believes that women are equivalent to men (although I do believe they should be treated equally under the law).  And I think that a society that supports the ability of women to go into whatever fields she wants has something going for it.  But I’m not going to argue that the underrepresentation of women in computer science is all discrimination.

I am going to argue that this dude on Facebook is an asshole.

Posted in: Ramblings