Banana bread recipe, and some griping

Posted on April 25, 2010

0


Ok, first let’s get the griping out of the way.  I volunteer with a pre-college engineering program that’s funded by a local university.  It’s pretty much the most fun thing ever, because I get to help 7th and 8th graders make and program Lego robots, build circuits, and try to get their heads around logic gates.  Anyway, us volunteers get breakfast, and a few weeks ago I noticed some particularly decrepit bananas in the spread, so I volunteered to bake banana bread.

I should not have done that.

A few weeks afterwards, one of the head dudes in charge comes to me and asks me to bake banana bread again with the two bananas that were sitting there.  Two bananas were not enough, and I said so.  And then he produced bananas that he had brought from home.  I make some sort of non-committal noise.  Later, I realize that the bananas have been surreptitiously placed next to my bag.  In retrospect, I should have left them there, but I didn’t.

I didn’t really want to make the banana bread. But if I didn’t, it would be like I stole this guy’s bananas.  So I made it, and wrote down the recipe while I was at it.  This one is modified from the Joy of Cooking (but much improved, if I do say so myself.  This is more moist and banana-y ^-^.  And the lady who wrote Joy of Cooking didn’t even test all of the recipes, didn’t you watch Julie and Julia? 😀 ).  It makes a 9″x5″ loaf.

Ingredients:

  • 5 quite ripe bananas (2 cups, mashed)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 stick salted butter (1/4 cup)
  • 2 large eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.
  2. Mash the bananas with a potato masher.  I’ve also tried the blender route, but I find that mashing creates larger banana-bits in the bread, which I find tasty.
  3. Microwave the butter in a LARGE bowl to melt it, and then mix in the sugar, followed by the banana, with a fork.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk the flour and baking soda to get them nice and mixed up.
  5. Add the baking powder-flour mixture to the banana-butter-sugar mixture, slowly mixing it in with a wooden spoon.  Or a fork.
  6. Butter a loaf pan and dust with flour.  Pour in the batter and bake for an hour.

Adjustments:

  • Butter. I use salted butter, but if you’re using shortening or unsalted butter, you’ll need to add your own.  3/4 tsp is an appropriate amount.

Intact banana bread

All that was left over

Posted in: Ramblings, Recipes