Recipe: Eggless meatloaf and baked potatoes

Posted on May 9, 2010

0


A classic mom recipe for Mother’s Day.  This serves 4.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • Russet potatoes

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Mix meat, bread crumbs, and seasonings with hands.
  3. Form into a loaf shape and place on large glass baking dish.
  4. Cut a slit into each potato, and place in the baking dish.  The oil that drains from the meatloaf will help cook the potatoes.
  5. Cook for 1 hour.

Adjustments:

  • Bread crumbs. I make this recipe with bread crumbs that I make myself from heels of bread, which I grind up in a food processor, and then store in the freezer.  They are less wet than fresh bread crumbs, and less dry than dry store-bought breadcrumbs.  Either should work in this recipe, but I have not tested it with them.

Vegetarian option:

That’s a whole other recipe!  If you’re looking for a good veggie loaf, I particularly like this one.

Posted in: Recipes